Voting for EHI’s Healthcare IT Champion of the Year 2014 is now open. The annual awards recognise individuals from across the healthcare sector who have made outstanding contributions in the last year. This can range from education, the use of new technology, or leading innovative projects, to individual practice and the enhanced delivery of care.

There are 20 nominees for this prestigious award and TPP is delighted to have worked closely with a number of them on a range of projects.

Dr Rick Jones was Senior Lecturer in Chemical Pathology in the University of Leeds and Head of Chemical Pathology and Immunology Services in the Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust. His main research interests were in metabolic medicine and computing. In the computing field, his primary interests were in clinical decision support and the educational uses of computers. Richard worked with TPP on the implementation of undergraduate clinical informatics training and the integration of pathology results into SystmOne. TPP were saddened by the death of Rick at the start of July when he passed away following an illness.

Another nominee, Darren Holmes, has worked hard to support SystmOne users, not only in his own organisation, but for national palliative users. He has been instrumental in managing and developing IT at St Barnabas hospice, working closely with the health and social care community. Darren has been promoting ways IT can support the delivery of integrated palliative and end of life care, and ensuring equal access to end of life care, regardless of diagnosis. In particular, he has been working with colleagues in mental health services to respond to the Prime Minister’s Dementia Challenge.

Darren also set up and chairs the SystmOne National User Group for palliative care. The user group has provided a forum for healthcare staff across the country to share best practice, resolve issues and come up with development requests.

To vote for your Healthcare IT champion of the year, please click here.

The winner will be announced at the EHI Awards which will be held at the Roundhouse, London on Thursday 9 October 2014.

Image courtesy of